It’s like this and that

It’s like this and that

It’s like it’s near and far all the same,

I keep getting ahead then sucked back,

pushing forward a few steps then crashing,

crashing back where I started.

The memories and the promises keep haunting me,

holding me by the neck and choking me.

I keep rubbing the wound and it starts bleeding again,

and just like before I have to tend to it anew.

I keep reliving everything that we were,

all the sweet moments we created,

and the simple little things we did when no one was looking.

It’s like this and that,

it’s like people,

it’s like that thing,

the thing that makes us long,

for that which no longer serves us.

It’s like that,

a deep wound, rubbed raw,

by a mind that keeps it alive.

Leave a Reply

